The fader on the screen is moving even though the MV isn't

Hi, so I’m the light designer at my church. I’m new to it, so when they installed the lights, I wasn’t involved in how it got done. But now I’m in charge of the lights and the software and all that.

We have LED ellipsoidals and half of them are run through DMX relays (again I’m new to programming but honestly I didn’t see the need to make relays instead the regular way of patching)

The person who patched everything assigned the “relay group” to a fader and told us to never put the fader down when doing a service. So I took it upon myself to lock that fader so that nobody would replace that fader with some other cuelist or group.

What’s been happening for quite some time is on the screen, the relay fader keeps going up and down, even though the MV fader is perfectly still. And the relay fader is the only fader doing that. So I don’t know if it’s a fader issue, a relay issue, software, etc.

Tough question to be honest. There are some possibilities:

1. You do have a faulty fader. When you say the fader is moving on screen can you actually see this for yourself in the virtual console view? How much is it moving by? Is it “jittering” a small % and passing through the point at which the relay turns on/off? Does it do this jitter continually? If the answer is Yes, you possibly have a bad fader. This can be fixed.

OR 2) does the fader move and stay there, for example move from 100% to 0% or Vice versa? If this is the case I would suggest it is console programming / fader gating behavior that is exhibiting this symptom.

You could actually test both of these theories by moving your relay cuelist assignment to a different fader. Does the problem follow the cuelist, or is it isolated to the specific fader assignment?

Feel free to submit a support request with the answers to these questions. We can officially pick it up from there.